newbie here with a few questions

oldnslo

Hi all,

as the title says this is my first post and I am quite honestly llooking for information about what to consider when shopping for Camry. Current ride is a 2000 Grand Am that I am tired of fixing.

Probably looking at an 06 or newer depending on availabilty. Probably also the V6, I doubt my better half will settle fot the 4 cylinder. As we all know "if she ain't happy, you ain't happy"

Is there some features on these vehicles that require more frequent maintenace or repairs?

Some model years better than others?

Is there sight where this info is already posted? I tried a search but did not have any luck.

Thanks

oldnslo

Welcome!

The Camry is really a great car. I'd say the 1992 and newer are definitely the best ones. The 1997-2002 models are very nice, very reliable, and have gotten a LOT cheaper lately because they're now 2 bodystyles old. The 2003-2006 bodystyle is very nice, but a bit bland. The 2003-2006 will occasionally have some of the newer technology like Navigation. The 4 cylinder motor in the 2003 and newer Camrys is very powerful, but a little noisy (still much quieter than your Grand Am, and more powerful than the Grand Am). The V6 motor is excellent, very smooth, quiet, and powerful. With proper maintenance, any Camry should easily last 200,000 or 300,000 miles with minimal repairs. Don't be afraid to buy one with higher mileage. Of course, have it checked out first to make sure it hasn't been abused.

Problems: there's been some history of sludging on the V6 motors, but I've noticed that it's usually limited to those brainless drivers who neglect to change their oil on a regular basis (or ever). Toyota is also covering many of the motors under warranty if sludging occurs, assuming you can prove some basic maintenances. There's also some concerns about how hard the transmission shifts.